ARTH319: Topics in the history of photography
Welcome to the Library's recommended resources for ARTH 319. This guide will help you find useful information for your essays and assignments. These resources are a good place to start, but this list is not exhaustive. If you need further help please contact your subject librarian.
If you are unfamiliar with your topic, learn more by browsing encyclopedias and subject dictionaries. Electronic items are online books. Click the link to Electronic Resource to read the book online.
- Find Library Resources
You can borrow books from AUT library, the University of Waikato library and the University of Otago library using our library catalogue when our library does not hold a copy of the book you want or our copy is on loan. This Borrow Direct video tutorial will help you use Borrow Direct Services. To view the video tutorial, select Borrow Direct from the contents.
- Victoria University Library Catalogue
The library catalogue should be your first choice when searching for books on any subject. Here are some useful subject headings for your research. You can enter the following subject headings as a phrase in Advanced Search screen: photography philosophy/ photography history/ commercial photography/ artistic photography/ landscape photography/ documentary photography/ nature photography/ vernacular photography/ photography scientific applications/ photography in ethnology/ legal photography
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
- Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
A comprehensive encyclopedia of world photography up to the beginning of the twentieth centuries
- Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography
Provides a useful resource on the entire scope of photography in the twentieth century
- Te Puna
You can search books on a specific topic held by all New Zealand libraries using Te Puna. Select National Union Catalogue from the databases list and connect. You can use the subject heading provided in the library catalogue to search books on photography. When finding books not held by our library and the Borrow Direct Libraries, you can use our interloan services.
If you want to find articles on a topic but don't have a specific article or journal title in mind, use one of the recommended useful resources.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
Comprehensive art bibliography covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. Encompasses the fine arts as well as decorative and applied arts.
- ARTbibliographies Modern
This collection includes books, articles exhibition catalogues, dissertations and reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Details author, title and source information for scholarly resources published between 1975 and the present in a wide range of liberal arts and humanities disciplines.